Losing *It*: The evolution of pop culture

homerpalooza1

“I used to be with it, but then they changed what *it* was. Now what I’m with isn’t *it*, and what’s *it* seems weird and scary to me.”

~Abe Simpson (The Simpsons – Homepalooza 1996)

If you get this reference, you’re probably already losing *it*.

I remember when the Simpson’s first aired, 20 some years ago. My father wouldn’t let us watch it. Like many parents at the time, he thought the show wasn’t appropriate, and Bart’s blatant disrespect for his father was not acceptable. Now, I can watch reruns on JoyTV, the multi-faith, family-centric, spiritually aware television network. It’s wedged between episodes of ‘The Bob Newhart Show’ and ‘The Mary Tyler Moore Show’.

That’s when I realized I was losing *it*. I’m losing my grip on ‘pop culture’.

The Simpsons was a pop culture smash. My childhood brain was soaked with dozens, if not hundreds of quotes, and in-jokes. Even today, I find myself quoting Bart, Homer, or even Ralph all the time, and I giggle with glee when some of the earlier *cough*better*cough* episodes are rerun on TV. But just like Bob Newhart and Mary Tyler Moore before them, the Simpson’s spotlight has faded. They have been replaced with new shows, new quotes, and new jokes.

My 5 year old niece, or 6 month old son will never know, or care, about Ralph Wiggum the way I do. And its not just limited to my favourite TV family. Ralph_Flute

I can’t for the life of me understand why the Kardashians are famous? How can Robert Pattinson be the sexiest man alive? Who keeps giving Kristen Stewart work? Oh, and have you heard what passes for ‘music’ these days?

And while I’m on my soapbox, why can’t they leave my favourites alone? I don’t want a club remix of ‘Smells Like Teen Spirit’, and I don’t want Vampires to sparkle or twinkle or glitter, or whatever.

They’re changing what *it* is. And it scares me.

But then I got to thinking.

We’re watching the birth of a new *it*, a new tier of pop culture for a new generation. While this is nothing new, it happens generation after generation (I love the remade Battlestar Galactica! BTW), I feel like it’s changing in a new way now.

It used to be that *it* was limited by region, or by the 5 channels on TV, or to people of a certain age. But not anymore, we live in a completely accessible and customizable world now. Technology allows us to communicate and interact on a scale never seen before. The new *it* is no longer limited by location, or age, or culture, the new *it* can be global. But at the same time, is there a new *it*? or are there now many smaller *its*?

Is pop culture becoming a ‘niche’ culture?

What do you think?

Am I a rambling old man? Am I just a few grey hairs away from shouting at those youngins to turn down their crap music, and stay off my lawn?

Join me at the next meeting to discuss the evolution of pop culture, or at the very least reminisce about the ‘good old days’ before all those kids showed up and ruined it with their Biebers and their Twilights.

Michael

Oh, one last little tidbit for your consideration. Age wise, Robert Pattinson could very well be the ‘George Clooney’ of my son’s generation.

500full

Leave a comment